NYLS 125th Banner
Home » Alumni & Friends  » Read All About It! » Articles
Nine New York Law School Alumni Accepted for Admission to Practice Before U.S. Supreme Court

Nine New York Law School alumni, accompanied by friends and family, were admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court in an induction ceremony held on Monday, December 4 in Washington, D.C. This year’s group included one husband and wife: John J. Reddy ‘79 and Christa Hoeher Reddy ’79. Mr. Reddy is the incoming President of the Alumni Association. He will assume office in January 2007.

Click here to view photos of this event.

To qualify for admission to the Bar of the Supreme Court, an applicant must be admitted to practice in the highest court of a state, commonwealth, territory, possession or the District of Columbia for at least three years immediately before the date of the application. The candidates also must not have been the subject of any adverse disciplinary action during that time and must appear to the Court to be of good moral and professional character. Finally, applicants also need two letters of recommendation from members of the Bar of the Supreme Court who know the applicant personally but are not relatives.

Steven B. Shapiro ’84, and Peachetta S. deFreitas ’93, both Vice Presidents of the New York Law School Alumni Association, provided recommendations for many of the New York Law School inductees. Liane J. Bass ’94, Senior Administrator of Graduate Programs at New York Law School, and Suzanne Davidson, Associate Dean and Vice President, also served as sponsors.

The evening before the ceremony, Dean Richard A. Matasar presided over a reception for the inductees and their friends and families at the Washington Court Hotel on Capital Hill. Click here to view photos of this event.

Following the induction ceremony, the Law School hosted a luncheon at Rosa Mexicano, a well-known Washington restaurant.

The inducted alumni were:

  • Lawrence Robert Gelber ‘81
  • David H. Kaplan ‘77
  • Mellissa Layla Longo ‘01
  • Ross Franklin Moskowitz ‘84
  • Thomas Hoff Prol ‘01
  • Lino A. Solis ‘96
  • Christa Hoeher Reddy ‘79
  • John J. Reddy, Jr.’79
  • Raymond Zutell ‘57