NYLS 125th Banner
Jackson Lewis Brunch Recognizes Moot Court Participants and Judges

The Robert F. Wagner National Labor and Employment Moot Court is one of the highlights on the annual calendar at New York Law School. For the past three years, Jackson Lewis LLP has served as lead sponsor for the brunch held to honor the final round judges. This year’s third annual Jackson Lewis Brunch took place on Sunday, March 19th in the Wellington Conference Center.

Each year, approximately 100 people attend the brunch, held on the last day of the Moot Court competition. The invited guests include the semi-finalists from the competition, New York Law School labor and employment law alumni and students, members of the Moor Court Association and former Wagner Competition judges. The brunch provides a way for the Law School to thank everyone involved with the Wagner Competition.

New York Law School and Jackson Lewis LLP have shared a close friendship for many years. The firm’s founding partner, the late Louis Jackson was a 1930 graduate of the Law School. In 1994, Mr. Jackson and his wife established the Louis and Sylvia Jackson Scholarship Fund, which is awarded annually to a student who demonstrates academic merit and financial need. The 2005-2006 Louis and Sylvia Jackson Scholar is Christian Gonzalez.

Currently, 11 New York Law School alumni are employed by Jackson Lewis LLP. Managing Partner Philip B. Rosen, whose daughter Jessica Rosen is a first-year student at New York Law School, spoke at the brunch on behalf of the firm.

The Wagner Competition is the nation’s largest student-run moot court competition and the only national competition dedicated exclusively to the areas of labor and employment law.

Students from 38 law schools competed in the written and oral phases of the competition. The oral rounds began on March 15 and culminated in the grand final round with the two best teams arguing before a bench that included: the Honorable Alex Kozinski, former chief judge of the Court of Federal Claims and United States Circuit Judge for the Ninth Circuit since 1985; the Honorable Julia Smith Gibbons, United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit; the Honorable Jane Roth, United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit; the Honorable Wilma B. Liebman, Board Member, National Labor Relations Board; and the Honorable Richard A. Matasar, Dean and President, New York Law School. The final round was judged by a distinguished bench led by Judge Kozinski..

Michigan State University College of Law was the overall winner of the competition, arguing in the final round against Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law.

At the brunch, Professor Carlin Meyer, who served as faculty advisor for the fact pattern, recognized Vincent Carbonell ’00, who has established the Carbonell Scholarship Fund at New York Law School in honor of his father Ricardo Carbonell, a long-time trade-union activist, and local and national leader of the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union, UFCW, AFL-CIO.

The Wagner Competition is named in honor of Senator Robert F. Wagner, who graduated from New York Law School in 1900. Senator Wagner’s two greatest legislative achievements were the passage of the Social Security Act, which provided old-age pensions for Americans, and the National Labor Relations Act, which guaranteed labor's right to organize and bargain collectively.